top of page

Three Area Pilots Receive Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award

FAA presentations at the Moraine Air Park on May 5, 2019

The most prestigious award that FAA issues to pilots, The Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award, recognizes professionalism, skill and aviation expertise as an accident-free career pilot for at least 50 years. Less than 1% of current active pilots have received this award. Moraine Pilots that were honored as Master Pilots by FAA are Patty Wagner, Jack Darst, and Roger Saddler.

On hand to present the awards were Kirk McConnel (shown below making the presentations) and Jason Forshey of the FAA Safety Team. The pilots received a distinctive certificate and a lapel pin.

The recipient's name, city and state are added to a published "Roll of Honor" located at

The FAA made the presentations at the Moraine Air Park on the occasion of EAA Chapter 48's 60th annual Funday Sunday Fly-In on May 5, 2019, the longest running EAA Chapter Fly-In at the same location in the history of the Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA).

For more about EAA 48 see:


bottom of page