top of page

The National Aviation Hall of Fame Armstrong Award

The National Aviation Hall of Fame to Present Prestigious Armstrong Award to Aviation Entrepreneur, Co-founder, and CEO of ForeFlight Tyson Weihs

Dayton, OH August 10, 2023: The Board of Trustees of the National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) is pleased to announce that the 2023 Armstrong Award will recognize Co-founder (and CEO for fifteen years) of ForeFlight, Tyson Weihs.

“This award publicly acknowledges Tyson’s dedication to leadership in promoting aviation and the values of innovation, integrity, and service,” explained NAHF President & CEO Aimee Maruyama. “Tyson’s story is an inspiration for future generations of aviation innovators and entrepreneurs.”

Weihs is being honored specifically for his innovative spirit, commitment to safety, and service to the aviation community as Co-Founder of ForeFlight, the leading provider of critically-acclaimed, essential Integrated Flight Application software for aviation. ForeFlight is an invaluable companion for pilots that packs rich airport information, search, and aviation weather imagery in a single package. "Receiving the Armstrong Award is deeply humbling," said Tyson Weihs, reflecting on the recognition. "I am truly honored to be part of the distinguished legacy of aviation, and I believe this award underscores the limitless possibilities that aviation holds for those who dare to dream and push boundaries."

“Not only has Tyson left an indelible mark on aviation by co-founding ForeFlight,” said NAHF Chair Jim Cooling, “he is also a valuable member of the aviation community, giving generously with his leadership, time, and expertise to support numerous aviation organizations."

Weihs will receive the award on September 21, 2023, at the President's Reception as part of the National Aviation Hall of Fame’s 59th Enshrinement events. Over 600 people are expected to attend two days of events in Washington D.C., including government and industry leaders and several returning Enshrinees, including former NASA astronauts Charlie Bolden, Eileen Collins, Bob Crippen, and Hoot Gibson, aviation visionary Joan Sullivan Garrett, general aviation titans Dale Klapmeier and Russ Meyer, and world champion aerobatic aviator Sean D. Tucker.

The ceremony, led by emcee CNN’s Pete Muntean, features the formal installment of the NAHF Enshrinee Class of 2023; pioneers (the late) Velta Benn and (the late) Cornelius Coffey, visionaries Angela Gittens and (the late) Ed Stimpson, and aerospace heroes Fred Haise and Kathryn Sullivan.

The 59th NAHF’s Annual Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony is open to the public by advance registration only. Limited sponsorship opportunities and individual seats are still available. To make reservations or find more information, visit or call 937-256-0944 ext.16.


About The National Aviation Hall of Fame- The National Aviation Hall of Fame strives to create a distinctive educational resource that will inspire future generations to appreciate our nation’s extraordinary aviation heritage and the men and women who created it.

Founded and based in Dayton, OH, the NAHF’s Heritage Hall & Education Center is committed to informing the public of American aviation heroes, their accomplishments and their impact. Learn more at

National Aviation Hall of Fame | 1100 Spaatz St., Dayton, OH 45433 | (937) 256-0944 |


The National Aviation Hall of Fame is Site #6 on the Aviation Trail


bottom of page